JAY RAMSAY        Foreword by Peter Owen Jones

 

In the summer of 1990 Jay Ramsay set out on pilgrimage with an interfaith group from London to Iona. The result is his most ambitious book-length poem, an astonishing tour de force in the tradition of Wordsworth and Chaucer. Epiphanic, conversational, meditational, psychological, political, it divines ‘the cross’ of spiritual and ecological being in Britain’s radical tradition, as symbolised by Iona as the crown of the Celtic church and the direction that Christianity lost. Constructed as a series of 25 ‘days’, the narrative builds symphonically like waves of the sea up to its visionary climax. Full of stories, reflections, memories, and images, Pilgrimage is above all a love poem, an invitation into the greater love that is our true becoming where we can find the God most personal to all of us – alive in the heart of Life.

Pilgrimage: a journey to Love Island

£15.00Price
  • POETRY / SPIRITUALITY

     

    SEE THE CONTENTS LIST        

     

    ‘Pilgrimage is an important outpouring from one of Britain’s leading poets wrestling with the Christ story, the human story, and the story of where we need to go as a species. Travelling with Jay is never anything less than a journey into the past, with adventures in the present, and visions of hope for the future.’

    Martin Palmer

     

    ‘It is strange and beautiful how everything he passes comes into colour, into focus – is born. And I ran along after him and listened as he changed the colour of the sea and broke down doors.’

    Peter Owen Jones

     

    'Jay’s latest work is quite exceptional. I’ve been reading it every morning and can’t put it down, it turns the start of every breakfast into a feast. Every line is a rich mix of breakfast berries and linguistic delights, with a lyrical yoghurt that bathes every page of the journey.'

    Will Thomas

    'Love courses through the veins of this poem in an open-arm embrace ... It is a poem which ... repays the time and courage to jump into the journey, the pilgrimage, with both feet, offering revelation after revelation of just who we are in relation to all and why we need seers such as Ramsay in our midst to point the way.'

    Julian Nangle, Caduceus

© 2017 Awen Publications. Created with Wix.com

Shipping FREE for UK orders.       Click here for overseas shipping charges and returns info.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon